New Judas Priest? You Wouldn’t Know it!

What I mean by that article title is that this is good old Judas Priest, the way they always were – fucking metal! Judas Priest is showing piss-ant pussies how it’s done and releases real metal, the kind of MTV lore in days past, but smacked in your face now – here and fucking now! See, when it’s done by Gods, it doesn’t need to go over the top and try to hammer you with pounding riffs that are too loud to comprehend or screaming vocalists that sound like muppets. This is just metal, the way it was invented, and how it should be forever.

See kids. When you learn how to play your instruments, you can record music that doesn’t suck! And wow – no synthesizers and DJ’s in the background.

Set for release on Friday, March 9th, 2018 via Epic Records – the new Judas Priest album titled ‘Firepower’ offers fourteen tracks of pure and highly inspired metal. To mark the occasion, singer Rob Halford, guitarists Glenn Tipton and Richie Faulkner, bassist Ian Hill, and drummer Scott Travis have reunited with producer Tom Allom (the man behind the board for all of the band’s releases from 1979-1988, including such stellar classics as ‘Unleashed in the East,’ ‘British Steel,’ ‘Screaming for Vengeance’ and ‘Defenders of the Faith’) and with Grammy Award-winning producer Andy Sneap also helping to raise the sonic bar even higher.

Tom Allom has got this classic metal thing,” explains Halford. “And Andy is a bit more of a ‘modern metal producer’ but his thinking is a little bit different to Tom’s. And I think to get this balance between that classic old school metal to what Andy’s world is was just a remarkable coalescence.” “Tom Allom has been with us since 1979, so his knowledge of ourselves and our music in general is immense,” adds Hill. And according to Travis Priest returned back to a recording method that worked incredibly well on the band’s earlier classics – “We went back to the organic way of recording where it’s all of us in a room and we got to play together.

With the impending arrival of ‘Firepower’ and its ensuing tour (which kicks off on March 13th in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania), THE PRIEST IS BACK!


1. Firepower
2. Lightning Strike
3. Evil Never Dies
4. Never The Heroes
5. Necromancer
6. Children of the Sun
7. Guardians
8. Rising From Ruins
9. Flame Thrower
10. Spectre
11. Traitors Gate
12. No Surrender
13. Lone Wolf
14. Sea of Red