Thunder Returns In 2017 With “Rip It Up” Through earMusic

Thunder - 2016
Thunder - 2016

Thunder will release a brand new studio album titled “Rip It Up” on February 10, 2017 through earMUSIC. The disc, the band’s eleventh release, and features eleven new songs recorded in 2016. Following the Top Ten success of the band’s previous release “Wonder Days”, “Rip It Up” sees Danny Bowes, Luke Morley, Ben Matthews, Chris Childs and “Harry” James stretching themselves musically, lyrically and creatively.

Thunder - Rip It Up Album Cover
Thunder – Rip It Up Album Cover

This album comes nearly three decades into their career. The new disc features rockers, like the incendiary title track “She Likes The Cocaine”, while songs like “Right From The Start” take the pace down, but turn the intensity up. While the album closes out with the stylish blues-tinged melancholia of “There’s Always A Loser”, it’s clear that the band have continued with their winning ways. After a summer of great gigs including killer performances at the Ramblin’ Man and Steelhouse festivals, the quintet know what works and how to pace a set of songs.

Frontman Danny Bowes shares, “After the positive reaction to ‘Wonder Days’, we were very happy, and it justified the approach we took in the writing and recording. We decided to push it further on all fronts this time, to see what happened, and I think it shows in the writing and the individual performances. We couldn’t have made this album 10 or even 5 years ago, we weren’t good enough! We’re really looking forward to playing the new tunes live alongside the more established ones.”

“Rip It Up” track listing:

01. No One Gets Out Alive
02. Rip It Up
03. She Likes The Cocaine
04. Right From The Start
05. Shakedown
06. Heartbreak Hurricane
07. In Another Life
08. The Chosen One
09. The Enemy Inside
10. Tumbling Down
11. There’s Always A Loser